Onondaga Free Library 2023 Annual Meeting Minutes March 27, 2024

Board Attendees: Chris McCarthy, Beth Crump, Tom Bradley, (6:06), Rob Price, Margaret

Farrell

Absent: Liz LaRochelle

Staff: Susan Morgan, Scott Lipkowitz, Lisa Agustin, Nicole Wright, Victoria Deal

Guests: New Trustee: Charlotte Garofalo

Town of Onondaga councilors: Lisa Goodwin, Mary Kay Ryan

Town of Onondaga resident: Pat Forken OCPL Board of Trustees Liaison: Jill Hurst-Wahl

OCPL Executive Director: Dawn Marmor

Friends of OFL: Sheila Graudons

Assembly Member Hunter's Office: Tina Zagyva

The meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m. Susan Morgan welcomed everyone.

I. Approval of minutes from the 2022 annual meeting. Rob made a motion to accept the 2022 annual meeting minutes; Beth seconded. All in favor. Carried.

II. President's Remarks and Library Director's Report

Chris stated how lucky the board of trustees is to be partnering with a great organization, OFL. He thanked Susan for her leadership and commended her team and staff for their continued success and dedication. He highlighted the Friends of OFL for their continued efforts to make our library a success.

Susan thanked the Town residents, school district residents, the staff, the board of trustees and the Friends for their continued support, stating that OFL has had a banner year. She shared the 2023 annual report highlighting:

- a total of 242,252 items circulated last year
- E-book circulation was up 22% compared to 2022
- in-person visits totaled 68,458
- 950 patrons registered for a library card

In addition, Susan thanked Tom Bradley for his 6 years of service to the board.

III. Treasurer's Report

Margaret presented the 2023 financial summary, noting that a major expense has been keeping employee salaries and wages competitive.

IV. Old Business- none

V. New Business

Nomination and Election of new trustee:

Rob made a motion to appoint Charlotte Garofalo to the OFL Board of Trustees; seconded by Margaret. All in favor. Carried.

Margaret made a motion to approve the next terms for the trustees as listed below. seconded by Tom. All in favor. Carried.

Chris - currently in 2nd term that expires March 2025
Beth - 3rd term March 2024-March 2026
Rob- currently in 2nd term that expires March 2025
Liz- currently in 1st term that expires March 2025
Margaret- currently in 1st term that expires March 2025
Charlotte Garofalo (new) - 1st term March 2024- March 2026

Beth made a motion to appoint the new officer slate as listed below; seconded by Tom. All in favor. Carried.

Board of Trustees Officer Slate for 2024-25: Chris McCarthy- President Beth Crump- Vice President Margaret Farrell- Treasurer TBD Secretary

VI. Adjournment

With no further business, a motion to adjourn was made by Tom, seconded by Rob. All in favor. Carried.

The annual meeting adjourned at 6:14 p.m.